Public Participation Network (PPN)

Carlow Public Participation Network

What is the PPN

The Public Participation Network (PPN) is a new framework for public engagement and participation which was established in County Carlow in early October 2014. It will be the main link through which Carlow County Council will connect with community/voluntary, social inclusion and environmental sectors. In Section 46 of the Local Government Reform Act 2014a principal provision is that each Local Authority adopts a framework for public participation in local government. This was as a result of recommendations that came from the Working Group on Citizen Engagement, set up in September 2013 and chaired by Fr. Sean Healy

The aim of these structures is to facilitate and enable public organisations operating within the wider community to articulate and give voice to a diverse range of views, issues and interests within the local government system.

The role of the PPN will be to;

  • To identify issues of collective concern and work to influence policy locally
  • To actively support socially excluded groups
  • To encourage and enable public participation in local decision making and planning of services
  • To serve as the nominating structure for community interests (Social Inclusion, Community/Voluntary and Environmental) on Local Government committee structures including LCDC

The Structure of the PPN will have

  • A County Plenary at County level which deals with County level issues

The plenary will bring together all the PPN groups to give feedback, highlight issues and present the results of their work.

  • A Municipal District Plenary in each Municipal District (MD) which deals with issues at a municipal level
  • Linkage Groups will form to deal with specific issues and support nominees in their role; they will form part of the accountability and feedback mechanism for the community ( task groups)
  • A secretariat at County level that acts a facilitation, administration and communication mechanism

Community groups and organisations register under three different pillars of Community/Voluntary, Social Inclusion and Environmental.

Why your group should join-

  • Network , share information, learn from other community and voluntary groups in your area or sector
  • Create a sense of solidarity and collative action across the county
  • Elect representatives to policy making boards and committees.
  • Avail of free or low cost support and training in the county


Carlow PPN Secretariat members

  • Carlow Municipal Area                     Eileen Doyle
  • Muinebheag Municipal Area            Paddy Gardiner
  • Environmental                                   Eamonn Moore and Dee Sewell
  • Social Inclusion                                Joanne Donohoe and John Murphy
  • Community and Voluntary               Thomas Kelly and Regina Duane

Local Community Development Committee (LCDC)

  • Environmental College                     Eamonn Moore
  • Social Inclusion College                   Andrea Dalton and Josie Tierney
  • Community and Voluntary College      Thomas Kelly and Mary Doyle

Carlow PPN Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs) Representatives

  • Community, Housing and Amenity SPC
  • Community:                          Lorraine Hynes
  • Housing:                                Joe Butler
  • Amenity:                                Eileen O'Rourke
  • Transport, Environment and Infrastructure SPC
  • Transport:                               Jackie Meally
  • Environment:                          John Tully
  • Infrastructure:                        Paddy Gardiner
  • Economic Development, Enterprise Support and Planning SPC
  • Economic Development:         Paul Maher
  • Enterprise Support:                 Cornelia McCarthy
  • Planning                                   Alan Price
  • Cultural, Health and Agricultural SPC
  • Cultural:                                   Vacant
  • Health:                                     Eileen Doyle
  • Agricultural:                            Jim Browne

 Other Boards/Committees

  • Carlow Tourism Board-         John Meaney
  • South East Regional and Alcohol Task Force-    Ann Begley
  • Agriculture -      Martina Kelly

Contact Details of the Carlow PPN :