Winners announced at the 2017 Irish Fashion Innovation Awards

Winners announced at the 2017 Irish Fashion Innovation Awards

The Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Galway transformed into a mecca for fashionistas last night for the 2017 Irish Fashion Innovation Awards, with 500 guests in attendance. The awards celebrated their 8th year and are recognised as one of the most important and influential platforms for emerging Irish talent. Speaking about the night, producer Eddie Shanahan said “This is the show to come to if you want to see real imagination and excitement from some of the best new and established Irish Designers”.

Guests were treated to a spectacular show with work from forty two designers taking to the catwalk. The competition was judged by Chairperson of the Council of Irish Fashion Designers, Eddie Shanahan, Elaine Prendiville from the Sunday Business Post, Designer Rebecca Marsden and MD of Goldenegg Productions Patricia McCrossan who said “It is an honour to be able to showcase and promote upcoming Irish talent. The level of creativity and innovation that the designers bring each year is astounding and we are proud that the Irish Fashion Innovation Awards gives them the opportunity to showcase their talent to a wide audience”.

The success of the awards has led to the addition of multiple events as part of Galway Fashion Week with show producer and Chairperson of the Council of Irish Fashion Design, Eddie Shanahan hosting a series of seminars today Friday 31st March. There will also be a “Bloggers Breakfast” and the Galway Fashion trail on Saturday April 1st. Featuring showcases from a wide range of Galway stores, these events are free to the public and promise to be a wonderful day out. Information about the Galway Fashion Trail can be found on

Categories were sponsored by Brown Thomas, Hartmanns of Galway, the Local Enterprise Office Galway, Standún, the Gate Clinic - Smiles Dental and the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Galway with some of the sponsors announcing that they will showcase the finalists in their stores for a special limited time.

2017 Finalists & Winners:

Delphine Grandjouan, Lynsey Mcgarrigle,, @Éadach by Sara O'Neill: Stylist, Designer, Illustrator,
WINNER: Theo & George - Katie O’Riordan

Ana Caples, Davina Lynch Millinery #Lynchmobhats, Margaret O'Connor, Michelle Kearns Designs
WINNER: Davina Lynch Millinery #Lynchmobhats,

Louise Porter, The Atlantic Equipment Project, Niamh Daniels Scarves, Marie Claire Duncan, Wild Cocoon
WINNER: Wild Cocoon - Deirdre Duffy

Hannah McGuinness Jewellery, Lynsey De Burca, Rachel McKnight, INNU
Winner: Hannah McGuinness

Student Designer of the year:

Winner: Kate O'Doherty - LSAD

Ones To Watch:
Emma Ward, Sarah Murphy, Aisling Duff, Chloe Duggan

Innovation Awards 2017:
WINNER: Wild Cocoon - Deirdre Duffy