Local companies ready to ‘plough ahead’ in September

Meath companies ready to ‘plough ahead’ in September


€645,000 worth of sales generated by small businesses at the ploughing championships last year, with the help of the Local Enterprise Offices


Local Enterprise Office Meath and the Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Ms. Mary Mitchell O’ Connor T.D., have unveiled plans for the ‘Local Enterprise Village’, which will be home to 84 small businesses from around the country for the three days of the National Ploughing Championships.
Managed and funded by the Local Enterprise Offices, the Local Enterprise Village opens its doors from September 20th to 22nd at Screggan in Tullamore, offering Irish start-ups and small businesses a launch-pad for new products and services, giving them the chance to impress the 280,000 visitors expected at European’s largest outdoor event.


Last year, small businesses inside the Local Enterprise Village generated sales and orders worth €645,000* to the Irish economy, according to figures from the Local Enterprise Offices.


Supported by Local Enterprise Office Meath, local companies that are showcasing their products and services at this year’s Local Enterprise Village include: Cara Mara Luxury Seaweed Baths in Cortown, Kells, specialising in the supply of Seaweed Bath Packs and E. Finnegan and Sons, The Potato People, based in Balrath just outside Navan.


The plans for the 2016 Local Enterprise Village include a new product launch and demonstration area, where small businesses and start-ups can invite visitors to preview and sample new Irish brands. A new award scheme, the Local Enterprise Village Awards, is also being introduced for the first time, to highlight ‘up-and-coming’ brands and companies.


The Minister unveiled the plans at the Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation in Dublin with the help of the Local Enterprise Offices, the National Ploughing Association, Local Authorities Ireland, Enterprise Ireland and some of the small businesses that will be re-locating to the Local Enterprise Village in September.
Announcing the plans for the Local Enterprise Village, Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Mitchell O’ Connor said: "The National Ploughing Championships is a wonderful event which attracted 281,000 visitors last year and it continues to grow in scale and importance, especially for small businesses looking to launch new products and services to a mass audience. The Local Enterprise Village is another important initiative from the Local Enterprise Offices in partnership with local authorities, as it enables small businesses to grow sales and expand, creating more jobs across every county. Creating jobs across the country is a key priority for me as only a strong economy supporting people at work can pay for the services needed to create a fair society.”


The Local Enterprise Offices in the local authority network want the Local Enterprise Village to become a “must visit” destination for anyone travelling to the Tullamore site in September. Joe English, Head of Local Enterprise Office Meath said: “We want to welcome as many visitors as possible through the doors of the Local Enterprise Village, to support the local businesses that will be launching new products and services there. With fashion, food, craft, homeware and gifts from all over the country under the one roof, we’re expecting record crowds this year.”


Jackie Maguire, Chief Executive of Meath County Council said: “We are delighted that Meath will be well represented again this year at The Ploughing Championships and we wish them all the best at the event.”


The National Ploughing Association Chairman, PJ Lynam, said: “There is no doubt that the entrepreneurial spark is alive and well in Ireland with an unprecedented number of diverse and exciting businesses, exhibiting at the “Local Enterprise Village”, at this year’s Ploughing Championships. This is a unique opportunity for these small businesses, with 281,000 visitors in attendance last year, to showcase their products to the large number of visitors that Ploughing attracts.”
The entrepreneurs that met with Minister Mitchell O’ Connor at this week’s announcement included the founders behind ‘Toby Wagons’ in Wicklow, ‘Celtic Gent’ in Fingal, ‘De Mad Food Company’ in Offaly, ‘Melanie Hand Design Jewellery’ in Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, ‘Tumbledown Media’ in Carlow and ‘Scotts Irish Cider’ in Cavan.


More details around the Local Enterprise Village are available through www.localenterprise and by searching #localenterprise on social media. The 85th Annual National Ploughing Championships runs from September 20th to 22nd 2016 at Screggan in Tullamore in County Offaly with tickets on sale from August through www.npa.ie.

Local Enterprise Office/Local Authority Area Business Name Website Address
Carlow Tumbledown Media www.freddybuttons.com
Carlow IAS Laboratories www.iaslabs.ie
Cavan Scotts Irish Cider www.scottsirishcider.com
Cavan Stop & Stare Designs Co www.stopandstare.com
Clare Fun Affordable Gifts www.funaffordablegifts.com
Clare Western Herd Brewing Co www.westernherd.com
Cork City Rebel Chilli www.rebelchilli.com
Cork City Elbow Lane Brew House www.elbowlane.ie
Cork North and West Ocean Bloom www.oceanbloom.ie
Cork North and West Chart Datum www.chartdatum.ie
Cork South Barbara Hall Creations www.barbarahallcreations.ie
Cork South Lifekitchen.ie www.lifekitchen.ie
Donegal North Atlantic Seaweed Products www.salviesea.ie
Donegal Lanky Yanky Studio
Dublin City Delish Melish www.delishmelish.com
Fingal Periwinkle Design
Fingal Giftcentre www.giftcentre.ie
Fingal 65 Hurls www.65hurls.com
Fingal Celtic Gent www.celticgent.com
Dublin South Greenvalu www.greenvalu.ie
Dublin South Access Education Ltd
Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Dalkey Handmade Soaps www.dalkeyhandmadesoaps.ie
Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Melanie Hand Designer Jewellery www.melaniehand.com
Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown The Irish Workshop/ TIW Ltd www.theirishworkshop.com
Galway Local Galway
Galway Collerans Butchers
Galway Connemara Kettle Corn www.connemarakattlecorn
Galway The Galway Food Company www.thegalwayfoodcompany.com
Galway Green Earth Organics
Galway Sabanero Artisan Cheese www.sabanerocheese.com
Kerry Kerry Signature Furniture www.kerrysignaturefurniture.ie
Kerry Taste Kerry www.tastekerry.ie
Kerry O'Donnell`s Bakery www.tastekerry.ie
Kerry Skellig Pantry (Smoked Trout) www.tastekerry.ie
Kerry Lorge Chocolatier www.tastekerry.ie
Kerry Rolf's Fine Food www.tastekerry.ie
Kerry Camo`s Bistro www.tastekerry.ie
Kerry Oilean Chocolates (Chocolate Pops) www.tastekerry.ie
Kerry Killarney Toffee www.tastekerry.ie
Kerry Ring of Kerry Apple Farm (Apple Juice) www.tastekerry.ie
Kildare HACI Ltd, Hose & Coupling Ireland www.hcirl.com
Kildare Nadicom www.geneticdetection.ie
Kilkenny #tastekilkenny Stand
Kilkenny Mooncoin Homegrown Beetroot www.tastekilkenny.ie
Kilkenny Bernie's Farmhouse Desserts www.tastekilkenny.ie
Kilkenny Goatsbridge Trout Farm www.tastekilkenny.ie
Kilkenny Highbank Orchards www.tastekilkenny.ie
Kilkenny Kilkenny Rosé Veal www.tastekilkenny.ie
Kilkenny Shellumsrath Free Range www.tastekilkenny.ie
Laois Flavour Sarfai
Laois Rose & Alice Handcrafted Soaps www.roseandalice.com
Leitrim Chef Sham Sauces www.cottagerestaurant.ie
Leitrim Artwood www.artwood.ie
Limerick McAdare www.mcadare.ie
Limerick Lubdub Foods www.lubdubfoods.com
Longford Kaber Performance www.kaberperformance.com
Longford Go Oats
Louth Duinn Designs www.duinndesigns.com
Louth Finca Skin Organics www.rosacea.ie
Mayo Cuinneog Artisan Dairy www.cuinneog.com
Mayo Monaghan Bros Bar Furniture Manufacturers www.barfurniture.net
Meath E. Finnegan & Sons www.finnegansfarm.ie
Meath Cara Mara Seaweed www.caramara.ie
Monaghan Pollock's Pickles & Preserves www.pollockspickles.com
Monaghan Shanks Engineering Ltd - Farmhitch www.farmhitch.com
Offaly De Mad Food Company www.demadfoodco.com
Offaly Deanery Furniture www.deaneryfurniture.com
Roscommon Projects 5 creations www.beltlock.ie
Roscommon Derrycashel Crafts www.woodenclocksroscommon.ie
Sligo Clo's Chocolates www.closchocolates.ie
Sligo SUIP Manufacturing www.suipco.ie
Tipperary Emerald Oils www.emeraldoils.ie
Tipperary Tactile Text
Tipperary Premium Fire Products
Waterford Embermats www.embermats.com
Waterford The Tipperary Kitchen
Waterford Coffee House Lane www.coffeewarehouse.ie
Westmeath DBee Press
Westmeath SoulSnacks www.soulsnacks.ie
Wexford Wexford Food Family www.wexfordfoodfamily.com
Wexford Naturally Cordial www.wexfordfoodfamily.com
Wexford Wexford Home Preserves www.wexfordfoodfamily.com
Wexford O’ Neill’s Dry Cure Bacon www.wexfordfoodfamily.com
Wicklow Pacefeeder www.pacefeeder.ie
Wicklow Toby Wagons www.tobywagons.com