2018 Most Enterprising Student Awards

Offaly’s Youngest Entrepreneurs Recognised at Most Enterprising Student Awards

Primary school students from around Offaly have been rewarded for their business endeavours by the Local Enterprise Office Offaly as part of its "Most Enterprising Student" initiative.

The Local Enterprise Office in Offaly County Council runs an annual Most Enterprising Student Programme which offers primary schools throughout the county the opportunity to nominate their Most Enterprising Student (or group of students). It offers schools a chance to give recognition to a student who has set up and run their own business. Many of the schools who entered the competition held an “Enterprise Day” where the students designed, made and sold their products. The school then chose their winner from all the students who participated. The decision proved difficult for some schools given the wealth of business talent that now exists!

The awards were presented at a ceremony in the Tullamore Court Hotel on Tuesday 17th April by Anna Marie Delaney, Chief Executive Offaly County Council and Leas Cathaoirleach Offaly County Council, John Clendennen.

The children who were nominated had the opportunity to display their products at the awards ceremony and also to sell on the day. A lot of business was done with many stands completely selling out! Some examples of the businesses run by students include the current craze that is “slime”, home baking, handmade gifts and kindling.

Each school nominee was presented with a prize pack including a €50 book token and framed certificate.

21 schools entered the competition this year and nominated their Most Enterprising Student or Students.

The nominated students are as follows:


School Name



Scoil Mhuire agus Chormaic, Kilcormac

Eoin Moylan


St. Colman's National School, Mucklagh

Leah Kavanagh & Jade McDonald


Scoil Bhríde, Ballyboy

Oisín Guinan, John Bracken, Joseph McKeown, Ciarán Scully


Cappagh National School

Eoin Merriman & Jack Larkin


Kinnitty National School

Adam McRedmond


Gaelscoil an Eiscir Riada, Tulach Mhór

Rang a Sé


Scoil Mhuire Naofa, Rhode

Ms. Curneen's Fifth & Sixth Class


High Street National School, Belmont

Stephen Harrington


Cloneyhurke National School

Caithlin Swinburne, Keira Knight, Sue Le Blanc Meredith


St. Philomena's National School, Tullamore

Sarah Ryan, Grace Grattan, Shauna Geraghty, Olivia Mathew, Lillian Clear


Scoil Charthaigh Naofa, Rahan

Stephen Troy


Lumcloon National School

Lorcan Tierney


Coolderry Central School

Lauren Bryan, Abbie Walshe


Scoil Naomh Mhuire, Cloneygowan

Fifth & Sixth Class


Tullamore Educate Together National School

Ervin Krusniczky


Roscomroe National School

Róisín Kinsella & Megan Larkin


St. Joseph's National School, Moneygall

Oisín Hayes


Walsh Island National School

Sarah Mahon


St. Caillins N.S. Rashina

Emma Foley, Conor Foley, Conor Walsh, Ronan Longworth


Scoil Muire, Dunkerrin

Sam Carey, Tadhg Whyte, Patrick Sheedy


Scoil Bhríde, Edenderry

Olivia Eady

Congratulations to all of Offaly’s Most Enterprising Students.  The Local Enterprise Office Offaly would like to express its sincere thanks to the teachers, parents and principals for their involvement in the scheme. 

All photos on Local Enterprise Office Offaly Facebook page