Get in Touch

Map Location

0761 06 5000

0761 06 6200

Student Enterprise Awards

Press Release

                                                                                                             13 March 2017

St. Marys Secondary School Nenagh, Our Lady's Secondary School Templemore and the CBS High School Clonmel win the top Prizes at the Tipperary Student Enterprise Awards.

The 3 winners, Senior Category: St. Mary’s Secondary School Nenagh with their entry ‘The Safety Squad’, promoted by Marie O'Connell, Ella Kennedy, Ciara Grace and Leah Heffernan, Intermediate Category: Our Lady’s Secondary School Templemore with their entry ‘Sparky’ promoted by Aisling Meehan and the Junior Category: CBS High School Clonmel with their entry ‘Maith an Elf agus Maith an Ubh’ promoted by Anthony Kane will now progress to represent Tipperary at the National Final in Croke Park Conference Centre on Wednesday, 3rd May 2017. The winners of the 2016/2017 Student Enterprise Programme were announced on Friday 10th March at a packed ceremony held in LIT, Thurles. 77 businesses from 22 schools with 205 students participated in Friday’s County Final. The Student Enterprise Awards is an initiative designed to offer students the opportunity to take a business from the idea stage, through market research, production, selling, record keeping, management and finally writing a comprehensive report on their activities.

The programme is open to all second level students in Tipperary. There has been a very positive response from School Principals, Teachers, Parents and Students who welcome the opportunity to work together in the enterprise sphere. The competition culminated in Friday with a wide variety of mini businesses exhibiting across the three categories.


This year’s adjudicators were Mr. David O’Donnell, DSP/INTREO, Mr. Niall Hogan AIB Thurles, Ms. Catherine Hennessy, LEO Kilkenny, Ms. Patsy Cooney & Fiona Browne, LIT Thurles, Mr. Toss Hayes (STCEB) and Ms. Kate Walsh, Consultant.   Entries were judged on the basis of a written business report, product sample, trade stand and interview using a national prescribed marking system.


These awards were presented by the Cathaoirleach of Tipperary County Council, Councillor Siobhan Ambrose. Rita Guinan, Head of Enterprise acted as MC for the awards and Jamie Harrington, Teenline Ireland Ambassador was the guest speaker. The competition carried a prize fund in excess of €3,000 at local level in addition to specially commissioned awards and certificates.