Get in Touch

Map Location

0761 06 5000

0761 06 6200

2016 Student Enterprise Awards

sea logogroup shot  Claire Dempsey Sue Anne   Carrick School

Colaiste Phobal Roscrea and Our Lady's Secondary School Templemore win the top prizes at the Tipperary Student Enterprise Awards.

Following the County Final of the Student Enterprise Awards which took place at LIT Thurles on Friday 4 March, two Tipperary Schools will progress to represent their County in three categories at the National Finals taking place in Croke Park on April 20 next.  Over 240 students from across the County competed in the competition which began in second level schools last September and initially involved almost 1800 students. Co-ordinated by the Local Enterprise Office Tipperary, the competition is the most successful programme of its kind in the country with up to 17,000 participants. Colaiste Phobal Roscrea swept the boards winning both the Senior and Intermediate Awards with Our Lady's Secondary School in Templemore winning the Junior Award. Jack Kirwan with his innovative water sterilising unit won the Senior Award with Tadgh Nash and his business called 550 Paracord Bracelets scooping the Intermediate award.

Senior winner                                     inermediate winner

L-R Camelia Shanahan, Eleanor Forrest,                                                 L-R Gearoid O'Rourke, Cllr Seamus
Cllr Seamus Hanafin Cathaoirleach,                                                            Hanafin Cathaoirleach Tadgh Nash
Jack Kirwan, Amanda Rice and                                                                               and Amanda Rice
Mattie McGrath TD 

The Junior category winner was Aisling Meehan with her business Clawbag, a gear bag with a hook for holding hurleys.

Junior winner  Aisling Meehan pictured (l-r) with Camelia Shanahan (Judge), Cllr Seamus Hanafin and her teacher Emma Fogarty

This year’s awards were presented by the Cathaoirleach of Tipperary County Council, Seamus Hanafin who delivered the welcome address. Addressing the packed auditorium, Cathaoirleach Seamus Hanafin said that “in Tipperary we have great Entrepreneurs, we just don’t have enough of them. That is why Tipperary County Council through the Local Enterprise Office is seeking to support more young people to selec entrepreneurship as a career choice. The Student Enterprise Awards programme plays an important part in this. Nationally more than 17,000 students from 370 secondary schools research and run their own businesses and here in Tipperary today we have 93 of the best showcasing their ideas. By supporting the aspiring entrepreneurs of today the Local Enterprise Office is fostering the job creators of tomorrow”.

Rita Guinan Head of Enterprise who was MC at the event commented “that through these Awards, secondary school students learn important new business and teamwork skills in the classroom that will prepare them for an enterprising future, after school. The educational programme offers students a chance to research, set-up and run their own real-life enterprise, helping to foster an enterprise culture throughout the county”.

During the day in addition to showcasing their businesses Students got an opportunity to hear from Mr. Colin Baker of Back From The Future. Colin appears regularly on Tv3's Ireland AM and is the Sunday Business Post resident Technology journalist. He outlined for the Students the dream he and his brother had to run their own Technology Store - a place where they could share their love of technology with others, helping people to enjoy and understand it as they did and how they brought that dream to fruition. 

The competition carried a prize fund of €3,000 at local level in addition to specially commissioned awards. The senior competition was judged by Mr Gearoid O’Rourke of A&C Chemicals Ltd, Ms Aileen McGrath LEO Westmeath and Ms Camelia Shanahan of Meli Bondre who is also President of Network North Tipperary while the Junior and Intermediate categories were adjudicated by Mr Thos Hayes former CEO of the CEB & Ms Patsy Cooney of LIT Thurles.

LIT Thurles, proved to be an ideal venue for this scale of event combining extensive exhibition space with top class conference facilities creating an energy that on the day that was palpable. 

Prize Winners - Tipperary   Student Enterprise Awards 2016

The winners received certificates, specially commissioned awards in   addition to cash prizes as follows:-



Prize-winners -     Tipperary Student Enterprise Awards 2016






Business     Name




Team     Members


Senior Category




Water Sterilising Unit


Colaiste Phobal Roscrea


Jack Kirwan






Equi Bib


Loreto Secondary School Clonmel


Amy Broderick








The Abbey, Tipp Town


Mark Costigan, Danny     Cunningham,Gavin Downey, Evan Dudley, Adam Glasheen, Tom Hogan


Best     Agricultural Award




Grill Guards By Sean


The Abbey, Tipp Town


Sean Croker


Best     Consumer Product




Perfect Pal


Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles


Rachel Dowling, Sinead Ryan,     Siobhan Ryan, Clodagh Ryan, & Rebecca Cole


Best     Entrepreneur / Sales Team




Dunmore TY Agri


Colaiste Phobal Roscrea


Neil Maher & Jack Delaney


Best     Innovation Awards




Simple Stationary Solutions


Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles


Laurene McCarthy, Emma Larkin, Kate     Hogan, Sophie Hayes & Zoe Fitzgibbon


Most     Artistic Award




Colour Your Story


Loreto Secondary School Clonmel


Ciara Fanning, Emma Tobin, Michelle     Hannigan & Sorcha O'Gorman


Best     Display




Three Counties Firewood


CBS Carrick on Suir


Paul Moore & Shane Holden


Special     Merit




Mind My Mind


Scoil Ruain, Killenaule


Rachel O'Gorman & Caoimhe     McMenamin


Special     Merit




Little Foot


Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles


Claire Dempsey, Vanessa Dwan, Doireann     Egan & Avril Quirke












Intermediate Category




550 Paracord Bracelets


Colaiste Phobal Roscrea


Tadgh Nash






E&T Christmas Outdoor Ornaments


Colaiste Mhuire Co-Ed Thurles


Evan Donnelly & Thomas Stokes






Mirror Men


Scoil Ruain, Killenaule


Cillian White & Paddy Gaynor


Best     Stand




Coaster Craze


Our Ladys Secondary, Templemore


Emma Kelly, Claire Maher, Brona     Bergin & Sinead Bergin


Best     Business Plan




History of Clonmel Fire Station


High School, Clonmel


Hugh O Sullivan, Josh King and     Connor Grace


Best     Craft Award




Dunogarty Wood Products


Newport College


Michael Dunlea and Michael Fogarty


Merit     Award




LH Designs


CBS Carrick-on-suir


Laurance Hearne


Merit     Award




Ballynevin Book


CBS Carrick-on-suir


Christopher Walsh












Junior Category






Our Lady's Secondary School     Templemore


Aisling Meehan






Emergency Pack


CBS High School Clonmel


Adam Looby Anthony Sweeney, James     McLoughlin & Michael Dillion








Presentation Secondary School,     Clonmel


Caoimhe Woods, Tara Malone &     Hannah McCabe


Best     Stand




Freedom Hats


Colaiste Dun Iascaigh Cahir


Saoirse Kinsella, Leanne Kelly     & Meibh Cowan


Best     Business Plan




Independent Chocolate Bar


CBS Carrick on Suir


Mark McCoy & Adam O Shea


Craft     Award




Jays Shillelagh


CBS Carrick on Suir


Jay Meagher


Merit     Award






St Marys Secondary School Nenagh


Sophie Hogan, Weronika Urbanik     & Korolina Milek


Merit     Award




Spa in a Jar


St Marys Secondary School Nenagh


Sarah Conroy, Isabelle Mullane,     Katie Grace, Hazel O'Dwyer & Deirbhile O'Dwyer