Most Enterprising Student Awards 2022

Offaly’s Youngest Entrepreneurs Recognised at Most Enterprising Student Awards

Primary school students from around Offaly have been rewarded for their business endeavours by the Local Enterprise Office Offaly as part of its "Most Enterprising Student" initiative.

The Local Enterprise Office in Offaly County Council runs an annual Most Enterprising Student Programme which offers primary schools throughout the county the opportunity to nominate their Most Enterprising Student (or group of students). It offers schools a chance to give recognition to a student who has set up and run their own business. Many of the schools who entered the competition held an “Enterprise Day” where the students designed, made and sold their products. The school then chose their winner from all the students who participated. This often proved very difficult as the wealth of business talent was exceptional. 

The awards were presented at a ceremony in the Tullamore Court Hotel on Monday 23 May by Pat O’Gorman a member of the Local Enterprise Office Evaluations Committee.

Mary McIntyre from Offaly Local Enterprise Office told the students how delighted she was to meet Offaly’s next generation of entrepreneurs. She said she was very impressed with the products, displays and business skills. She reminded them that through the Most Enterprising Student Initiative, they would have learnt so much including: Business Planning, market research, marketing and team work which will help them in their future careers and hopefully, for some of them it will encourage them to consider self-employment as a career choice.

The children who were nominated had the opportunity to display their products at the awards ceremony and also to sell on the day. A lot of business was done with many stands completely selling out! Some examples of the businesses run by students include free range eggs, home baking, crafts, bicycle repairs, handmade jewellery & gifts.

Each school nominee was presented with a prize pack including a €50 book token and framed certificate.

The following schools participated in the programme 

Scoil Chiarain Naofa, Broughall, Kilcormac

Scoil Chronain Naofa, Dromakeenan, Roscrea,

Kinnitty National School, Kinnitty

Coolderry National School, Birr

St Philomena’s National School, Tullamore

Scoil Bhride, Ballyboy, Kilcormac

St. Callin's National School, Rashina 

Gortnamona National School, Blueball, Tullamore

Scoil Mhuire, Cloneygown

Scoil Mhuire Naofa, Rathcobican, Rhode

Scoil Naomh Mhuire, Walsh Island

Seir Kieran National School, Clareen