Most Enterprising Student Awards 2024

The Local Enterprise Office in Offaly County Council runs an annual Most Enterprising Student Programme which offers primary schools throughout the county the opportunity to nominate their Most Enterprising Student (or group of students). It offers schools a chance to give recognition to a student who has set up and run their own business. Many of the schools who entered the competition held an “Enterprise Day” where the students designed, made and sold their products. The school then chose their winner from all the students who participated. This often proved very difficult as the wealth of business talent was exceptional.

Photo Collage

Rebecca Connor from Dromakeenan NS pictured with Orla Martin, Head of Enterprise and Eddie Fitzpatrick, Cathaoirleach of Offaly County Council 

At the Awards Ceremony Councillor Eddie Fitzpatrick praised the students and their teachers and parents for all the hard work that went in preparing for the awards day. He encouraged the students to think about entering the Student Enterprise Programme when they get to second level.

Orla Martin, Head of Enterprise told the students how delighted she was to meet Offaly’s next generation of entrepreneurs. She said she was very impressed with the products, displays and business skills. She reminded them that through the Most Enterprising Student Initiative, they would have learnt so much including: Confidence, Creativity, Collaboration and Communication.

The children who were nominated had the opportunity to display their products at the awards ceremony and also to sell on the day. A lot of business was done with many stands completely selling out! Some examples of the businesses run by students include free range eggs, home baking and handmade gifts.

Each school nominee was presented with a prize pack including a €50 book token and framed certificate.

The nominated students were 

From Kinnitty NS - Grace O’Keeffe, Clodagh Kealey, Lenara Kurtieva, Emily Corboy, Emma Bannon, Lucy Bradley, Zoe Farrell, Áine Moyles, Michaela Blake, Aoibhinn Dooley

From Broughall NS - Anna Feighery and Tiana Dubois 

From Ballyboy NS - Andrea Feighery, Anna Doolan, Alice Molloy 

From Rath NS - M.J. Carroll 

From Durrow NS - Anna Kinnarney, Matilda Lynch 

From Clonlisk NS - Matthew Douglas

From Tubber NS - Mia Kelly, Mila Fralkova, Amira Reynolds, Emily-Rose Conlon, Lucy McManus, Abby Evans, Eliza Jane Clery 

From Dromakeenan NS - Rebecca Connor 

From Rashina NS - Lauren Heavin 

Congratulations to all of Offaly’s Most Enterprising Students.  The Local Enterprise Office Offaly would like to express its sincere thanks to the teachers, parents and principals for their involvement in the scheme.

For more information on this initiative please contact Mary McIntyre 057 9357480 or