Town and Village Renewal Scheme 2018

Funding available for South Dublin projects under the Town and Village Renewal Scheme 2018

 Town & Village Renewal Scheme 2018

South Dublin County Council is now seeking Expressions of Interest from community groups and businesses in towns* and villages* in the South Dublin County administrative area for projects to be included in the Town and Village Renewal Scheme 2018.

Funding is provided through the Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural, and Gaeltacht Affairs to support the revitalisation of towns and villages in order to improve the economic development of our rural towns and villages.

The 2018 scheme will be targeted at two categories of Towns/Villages, with 60% of funding being made available for category 1 towns:

Category 1: Towns and villages with a population of less than 5,000 people.

Category 2: Towns with a population of 5,001 to 10,000 people.

Grant Amounts Available

Up to 80% of the total cost of a project under the Town and Village Renewal Scheme will be provided for any individual project. The minimum grant which is available is €20,000 and the maximum is €100,000.  A higher maximum of €200,000 will be considered for a limited number of projects where a robust case demonstrating exceptionally strong economic benefit to the town or village can be made.

Please note that emphasis will be placed on projects that have clear positive economic impacts on the town or village.

Expressions of Interest

Details of Scheme Outline and Expression of Interest Forms in relation to the Scheme are available below for downloading.

Town and Village Renewal Scheme Outline

Expression of Interest Form

Expressions of Interests will proceed to application stage if all eligibility criteria, as set out in the Scheme Outline, are met.

Completed Expression of Interest forms are to be submitted:

  • By e-mail to:; or,
  • By post to: Sandra Hickey, Local Enterprise Office South Dublin, County Hall, Tallaght, Dublin 24 D24 A3XC.

Please note:

  • Deadline for Expressions of Interest to be received is 4 p.m., Wednesday 6th June 2018.
  • *The only eligible towns/villages in the South Dublin County administrative area for the Town & Village Renewal Scheme 2018, as determined by the CSO 2016 census data, are as follows:

2016 - Population (Number) 



Brittas, South Dublin


Newcastle, South Dublin


Rathcoole, South Dublin


Saggart, South Dublin